Rebecca Watson’s Convenient Elision

As has been noted elsewhere, Skepchick leader Rebecca Watson (@rebeccawatson on Twitter) is fond of repeating this paragraph:

Over the past several years, I’ve been … told I can expect to be raped, told I’m a whore, a slut, a bitch, a prude, a dyke, a cunt, a twat, told I should watch my back at conferences, told I’m too ugly to be raped, told I don’t have a say in my own treatment because I’ve posed for sexy photos, told I should get a better headshot because that one doesn’t convey how sexy I am in person, told I deserve to be raped – by skeptics and atheists. All by skeptics and atheists.

What she tends to leave out is that these skeptics and atheists are often WOMEN.

She’s not getting these threats from just men who find her unbearable. She’s getting them from women who find her unbearable. This reporter can only come to the conclusion that it’s not because Rebecca Watson is female and that her detractors are misogynists – it’s because she’s unbearable across gender lines.

Comments are closed.

